Finding Balance in Life

Last weekend my yoga teacher was focused on balance.  While asking the class to do advanced poses, requiring more balance than any of us apparently had, I struggled to stay up right, occasionally putting a foot down, and starting again.  After class I felt more balanced than I had in weeks.  And a funny thing happened.  It translated into balance in my life.  I was able to easily take on all the tasks I’d given myself for the weekend, and still left time for friends, family and quiet time.

“A body in balance craves that which keeps it in balance. A body out of balance craves that which takes it further from balance. What we need to do is not to stop the craving, but bring the body back in balance.” Aadil Palkhivala

That quote explains the rest of my week.  By Wednesday that feeling was gone, rushing home to get a load of laundry started, figure out dinner, get a jump on homework for the week, get a head start on some writing, feed the cats, put away the baskets of laundry still begging for attention, and jewelry to fix.  I got home to a new issue of the New Yorker and a new shipment of my favorite ginger ale.

All I wanted to do was sit and read and drink.  But that would have to wait.  While doing homework my brain wouldn’t stop going over things from work that still needed to be done.  While fixing jewelry I was interrupted by a cat who’d made a mess after throwing her toy into her water and pulling it back out again.  While cooking dinner I found myself constantly on my phone looking for twitter updates, and wondering if my laundry was done yet.  Thinking about this a day later, I can’t help think of a book I started last week: Poser: My Life in Twenty-three Yoga Poses.

Dinner was over cooked, my homework is barely started, and I learned an important lesson, again, from making jewelry – don’t rush.  Something tends to go wrong when I push myself to finish a jewelry project quickly, ending with me redoing part or all of piece.  Don’t rush.  Stay balanced.  And then I remembered I forgot to pick up pictures I’d had printed for my grandma.  Don’t rush.

Work/life balance is something talked about mostly with women who have children.  I don’t know about you, but I’m really busy.  And I don’t have kids.  I have contemplated skipping yoga to leave more time for errands, chores, sleep, me time.  I have to remember that it is me time.  It is how I keep things in perspective, stay balanced in life, and keep from going crazy.

Wednesday night while straightening and picking up around my apartment, I wound up sitting down at the computer, scrolling through twitter, scanning blogs, and I came across this post from Hot Mammas Top Ten Power Plays for Women.  Balance is important, and how you achieve it varies with everyone. I read and re-read the Reality Check Questions.  For those of you who don’t have kids now, but want them one day:  Start on this now!

While I struggle with managing everything I piled onto myself, I wonder, who do I know who does have it all balanced? I couldn’t think of anyone right away.  All I could think of was the need to be yourself, and keep up enough to be happy, because that is where you’ll find balance.  My hair will never be perfect, my house will never be spotless, the to –do list will never truly end, but that’s okay.

Originally appeared on Fem2.0

Leave a Reply

